Harnessing the power of music to write: What’s on your novel’s soundtrack?

So, like many writers, I create soundtracks for my WIPs. Specific songs have an amazing power to change my psychological mindset and help me get into the emotional mood of a scene. Here are a few I’ve been using to harness writing brainpower for Rafa & Rose. which I’m writing collaboratively with a friend..

Getting into the setting:

Scenes that deal with Rose’s life issues:

Scenes involving Rafa’s family:

The growing relationship between the main characters:

Romance scenes from Rafa’s perspective:

Romance scenes from Rose’s perspective:

Just a few samples πŸ˜› Haha putting all these songs in a blog post like this reminds me, wow, my friend and I are playing with very different worlds here.

Writer friends, what songs are in your WIP’s soundtrack?

7 comments

  1. katz · December 28, 2014

    Valya’s song:

    Song of the Night Witches (English lyrics):

    Pasha’s song:

    Valya and Pasha’s song:

    Like

    • sjoycarlson · December 28, 2014

      Cool! Thanks for sharing πŸ˜€ Happy writing!

      Like

      • katz · December 29, 2014

        You too!

        Like

  2. christineplouvier · December 29, 2014

    Interesting. I blogged on this topic just over a week ago: http://wp.me/p30cCH-1ni

    Like

    • sjoycarlson · December 29, 2014

      Just checked it out! Will have to listen to some of those songs :D. I’ll have another post on the soundtrack for my novel set in Northern Ireland, coming in about a week!

      Like

  3. Jon Chaisson · December 29, 2014

    I could very well use up all your bandwidth on this conversation considering the amount of music I listen to, so I’ll just leave a link here for a blog post about this very thing that I wrote back in July:

    http://welcometobridgetown.com/2014/07/21/writing-soundtracks/

    πŸ™‚

    Like

    • sjoycarlson · December 29, 2014

      Haha yeah I feel ya! This is a small sample πŸ˜› I’ll go check yours out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

