Hey writer friends (or really anybody), do you have a simple word you perpetually misspell?

So here I am, brushing up my synopsis, typing the word toliet, and–of course–it gets underlined red because it’s spelled toilet. I don’t know why, but I have this mental block that prevents me from spelling it properly. I don’t get it, I have no idea why I unconsciously spell that specific, simple word wrong. I have to actively think the sounds out in my brain when I spell it. Pretty much every time. I’ll blame it on being a French word 😛 Modern technology, with it’s spell check and auto-correct, has negatively impacted my spelling ability.

Do you have a word that you just cannot for the life of you spell right? (at least without really thinking hard)

20 comments

  1. samulraney · August 22, 2014

    Weird. I always want to spell it wierd. 😀

    Like

    • sjoycarlson · August 22, 2014

      Ha! Glad I’m not the only one struggling with a five letter word!

      Like

  2. ehbates · August 22, 2014

    I always, always, always type chruch two or three times before I manage to get church out.

    Like

    • sjoycarlson · August 22, 2014

      Ha! nice to know I’m not the only one with mental blocks on simple words 😀

      Like

  3. Juan Zung · August 22, 2014

    I can never get rythem or rhyme right. I think i still got them wrong just now. And since I’m on my phone there’s no way for me to get the correct spellings. 🙂

    Like

    • sjoycarlson · August 22, 2014

      Haha your second one is correct! Why is it not spelled rime lol. Crazy English language

      Like

  4. Mishka Jenkins · August 22, 2014

    I always tend to get place names mixed up. Oxford become Oxfrod 😀

    Like

  5. Wesley Morrison · August 22, 2014

    Years ago, I was picking up some extra money by keyboarding typed manuscripts into Word files for a science publisher. One day, they called to let me know that I had apparently mistyped “impotence issue” as “important issue” every single time in one of the manuscripts.

    Like

    • sjoycarlson · August 22, 2014

      Haha! Well I suppose that probably is an important issue as well?

      Like

  6. Sierra · August 22, 2014

    “Exercise.” I always wanna spell it “excercise.” It’s embarrassing – I’m this super Engliah aficionado to like everyone I know, and I can’t even spell “exercise” right. 😡

    Like

    • sjoycarlson · August 22, 2014

      I sometimes forget if it’s a z or s lol. Doesn’t help being surrounded by British English spellings in Singapore!

      Like

  7. Jools · August 22, 2014

    I’m another one who gets stuck on wierd/weird – a symptom of my Germanic heritage maybe.

    Like

  8. phantomwriter143 · August 24, 2014

    For whatever reason, I always type ‘teh’ instead of ‘the.’ One of the easiest words in the world, and I get it wrong all the time.

    Like

  9. Mike O'Mara · August 25, 2014

    For some reason I always want to put a ‘c’ after the ‘x’ in ‘excercise.’ I have made this mistake so many times now that I can never remember which version is correct and always second guess myself when I write exercise. On paper, I just try to avoid the word all together and substitute it with less appropriate terms like ‘gymnastics’ or ‘cardio.’

    Like

    • sjoycarlson · August 25, 2014

      Ha! I sometimes have to stop and think about that one, too! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  10. eppsternamara · August 27, 2014

    “Excited” tends to frequently be written as “exited” in my.

    Like

Leave a Reply

