What my non-writer friends don’t understand…

ImageConfession: for the past few days, I’ve been a stalker. I’ve been obsessively going through my Reader looking for new writer friends, reading what people are up to, commenting on posts. I SWEAR I’m not a creeper or a serial killer. Anyway, I read a lot about people on the quest to publication, both self-publishing and embarking on the arduous, dangerous, gutting quest of the traditional route. I saw this meme character and BAM! Here it is for your enjoyment.

Okay, now I need to get back to my 2,495,456th revision on my perpetually nearly finished novel….  Just got amazing feedback from my fellow members of the Singapore Writers Group. Happy writing!

50 comments

  1. aminellie1inspiration · April 30, 2014

    Lol… It’s funny :p I’m thinking about writing a book too but worried about how to start, what to write and mainly the publishing part

    Like

    • sjoycarlson · April 30, 2014

      Don’t even think about the publishing part, especially if you’re in the beginning stages 🙂 Write because you want to write, write what you want to write. Have fun with it! I write because I love to create imaginary people and stories in my head 🙂 It just happens I’ve finished a few MS. I mostly just submit to agents to see what happens, but I’ll keep writing no matter what. So stop thinking and just do it! No excuses 🙂

      Like

      • aminellie1inspiration · April 30, 2014

        Oh okay, well I would begin writing the book first…then find out how to find a publisher, thanks 🙂

        Like

      • sjoycarlson · April 30, 2014

        🙂

        Like

  2. Angela Misri · April 30, 2014

    We’re all in it together so keep on keepin’ on…

    Like

  3. Kate Loveton · April 30, 2014

    Good post!

    Like

    • sjoycarlson · April 30, 2014

      Thanks! I think I might make a Things my non-writer friends… meme series.

      Like

  4. Heather M. · April 30, 2014

    So glad I’m not the only one that does that. I’m always looking through comments on other blogs to find more writers. It helps to know that other writers are going through the same struggles.

    Like

  5. eclecticalli · April 30, 2014

    One of the things I’ve been loving about getting into blogging is this chance to connect with other writers. Sharing in the crazy, and watching others go through processes I have to.. look forward to?… is awesome. Yay for community!

    Like

  6. Juan Zung · April 30, 2014

    Count me in as another WordPress stalker/creeper/Reader-obssessed commenter/like-er! Writing has felt extraordinarily isolating recently. Stuff like the WordPress community makes it less so.

    Like

    • sjoycarlson · April 30, 2014

      Agreed! My local writer’s group has really helped with that as well 🙂

      Like

      • grfrazier · April 30, 2014

        I’m participating in several local writing groups – novels, sci-fi/horror, screenwriters – and still find it a lonely endeavor. Most times the group reads and critiques pages, but as soon as the meetup is over everyone just splits. No one hangs around to talk about themselves or the craft. It’s kind of frustrating.

        At least on WordPress you can occasionally find a good dialogue going on.

        Like

      • sjoycarlson · April 30, 2014

        Yeah, this is true of some of my groups as well. For the one, it’s so time consuming to get through the feedback that it’s quite late by the time we’re done. It’s nice to have online place to dialogue as well 🙂

        Like

  7. kristilazzari · April 30, 2014

    Love the meme!

    Like

    • sjoycarlson · April 30, 2014

      Thanks!! I think I might make this a regular thing, so if you think of other things your non-writer friends don’t understand, let me know!

      Like

      • kristilazzari · April 30, 2014

        Oh so very many things they will never understand! 🙂

        Like

      • sjoycarlson · April 30, 2014

        I know I’ll have to start a list haha. Maybe I’ll release one a week or something.

        Like

  8. kinabunnz · April 30, 2014

    I think it’s fabulous that you are at the almost ready to publish stage, I hope to be there one day myself!

    Like

    • sjoycarlson · April 30, 2014

      Best wishes to you friend it just takes a touch of crazy to devote that much time of your life to it…. JK no it’s great 😛

      Like

  9. Harliqueen · April 30, 2014

    I think that is pretty accurate 😀

    Like

    • sjoycarlson · April 30, 2014

      What the part about me being a stalker? 😛

      Like

      • Harliqueen · April 30, 2014

        Ha! Well, I feel like that too sometimes, when I like to see what other writers are up to 😀

        Like

      • sjoycarlson · April 30, 2014

        Haha that’s how you make new friends on blogs, right? As long as we don’t start showing up at people’s houses…. 😛

        Like

  10. phdwriters · April 30, 2014

    Great post! I also enjoy reading about first hand experience with writing. The interaction is a great plus. And yes, more memes please! I loved this one!

    Like

    • sjoycarlson · April 30, 2014

      Agreed!! Let me know if you have any memespirations! I’m already brainstorming.

      Like

  11. Cali Powell · April 30, 2014

    This is great, I’ve been trying to do the same thing! Finding blogs, twitter feeds, Facebook pages, and trying to reach out. We’re all in this together 🙂

    Like

  12. Rachel Lavinia · April 30, 2014

    I love this SO MUCH! my friends pretty much have a heart attack when they see the stacks of paper/books I have JUST involved in research and planning

    Like

    • sjoycarlson · May 1, 2014

      Yeah, I usually don’t show them lol. They’d probably think I was crazy.

      Like

      • Rachel Lavinia · May 1, 2014

        Haha! as mine do. They’re like why don’t you just write it..in like one day and get published.

        Like

      • sjoycarlson · May 1, 2014

        Haha it’s so true. No clue how many hours….. Seriously, past few months, I’ve probably been unpaid working 60 hours a week it feels like!

        Like

      • Rachel Lavinia · May 1, 2014

        Yeah but it’s definitely much more enjoyable haha 😛 nothing better than creativity even if it is a lot of work!

        Like

      • sjoycarlson · May 1, 2014

        Agreed!!! But it is something my non-writer friends (and husband) don’t get! I swear I don’t sit at home all day watching netflix haha.

        Like

  13. Mariam Tsaturyan · May 1, 2014

    Hello! I became a fan of your blog, and nominated you to receive Liebster Award. The link is on my page if you are interested in participating. All the best to you! http://myauthorwithin.wordpress.com.

    Like

  14. Andrew Meadows · May 1, 2014

    Stalkers are always fun…

    Like

  15. jlheuer · May 2, 2014

    Even harder with art. Good luck on your latest rewrite.

    Like

  16. Deanna Dolan · May 3, 2014

    Ha! The minute I saw the meme I had to laugh. So true. Writing marketing copy is how I earn a living and something I really enjoy, but I love writing fiction! My favorite line in this post, “my 2,495,456th revision on my perpetually nearly finished novel.” I actually have a story sitting in my fiction folder with the title “A Work in Progress.” Thanks for sharing, it’s a nice reminder that I’m not alone.

    Like

    • sjoycarlson · May 3, 2014

      Haha so glad you appreciated it and can relate! Definitely not alone, especially now that I’m on my 2,495,467th revision. Happy writing and let me know if you think of any more meme topics.

      Like

  17. merrywriter23 · May 25, 2014

    OMG, right? 2,495,456th revision LOL I know how you feel.
    It’s not like you can just write and be done! Voila! It takes tons of work!

    Like

    • sjoycarlson · May 25, 2014

      Right? haha so I may have exaggerated a bit on the 2 million thing. But I am up to like saved draft 12 on my computer, and I don’t create a new file for every revise I do lol. It’s an art of love, right?

      Like

      • merrywriter23 · May 25, 2014

        Absolutely. I love hearing feedback. It makes me feel good to know I have created a reaction in a reader. Good luck to you!

        Like

      • sjoycarlson · May 25, 2014

        Thx you too!

        Like

  18. Mariam Tsaturyan · May 26, 2014

    Good luck with your revisions! I completely understand your “pain” with finding like-minded people who understand what it is to write. I do the same thing on WordPress lol. I go through different accounts, like and comment on posts in the hopes of making a connection.

    Like

Leave a Reply

